Roland Böer

Conductor

Contact: Ute Rost, +43 676 670 2423
user supplied image
user supplied image

»si l’on veut recevoir le vrai message de Mozart, il faut écouter l’orchestre. Avec Roland Böer, on a un super chef. Il a Mozart dans le sang. Sous sa direction, l’orchestre excelle.«

Nice Martin, January 2020

Biography

Roland Böer is an international opera and orchestral conductor. Until 2020, he was Music Director for twelve consecutive years, since 2015 also Artistic Director of the Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte di Montepulciano, a festival founded by Hans Werner Henze.
Up until 2019, he was also the Principal Guest Conductor of the Mikhailovsky Theatre in Saint Petersburg.

From 1996 to 1999, Roland Böer was first solo répétiteur at the Oper Frankfurt, and then, from 1999 to 2002, répétiteur and conductor at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, and, at the same time, personal assistant to Antonio Pappano at the Bayreuth Festival, La Monnaie in Brussels and the Royal Opera House in London, before returning to the Oper Frankfurt from 2002 to 2008 as Kapellmeister, where he has been a regular guest ever since, e. g. for Arabella, Die verkaufte Braut, Hoffmanns Erzählungen and La Damnation de Faust.

Opera

Since his debut at the English National Opera in London in 2005 with La Clemenza di Tito (production: David McVicar) and with the Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome with Così fan tutte (production: Daniele Abbado), Roland Böer has been one of the most sought-after Mozart conductors of his generation.
For example, he directed productions of Die Zauberflöte at La Scala in Milan, at the Royal Opera House London and the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Idomeneo and Die Entführung aus dem Serail at the Oper Frankfurt, Le Nozze di Figaro at the Opéra National du Rhin in Strasbourg, the Polish National Opera in Warsaw and at the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, Don Giovanni with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Thamos with the Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and Così fan tutte at the Opera di Firenze.

He has given guest performances at the Komische Oper Berlin (Salome), the Theater Bonn (Der fliegende Holländer) and the Volksoper Vienna (Salome, Rusalka, Tiefland), the Teatro Regio di Torino and the Teatro Petruzzelli di Bari, the Stadttheater Bern (Hänsel und Gretel), at Opéra National du Rhin in Straßburg and the Opéra de Lyon, at La Monnaie in Brussels (L’Heure espagnole, L’Enfant et les sortilèges), the Royal Danish Opera in Copenhagen (Albert Herring, Tannhäuser) and the Royal Swedish Opera in Stockholm (Manon Lescaut, Der Rosenkavalier), the Hungarian State Opera in Budapest and the Czech National Theatre in Prague (Elektra), as well as at the New National Theatre Tokyo (Die Zauberflöte).

Roland Böer maintains a long-standing and particularly successful relationship with the Opéra de Nice. Here, he has directed exclusively new productions of Adriana Lecouvreur, Turandot (with the Berio ending), Death in Venice, Elisir d’Amore, Rigoletto, The Rake’s Progress and Così fan tutte.

He has worked with directors such as Daniele Abbado, Matelda Cappelletti, Dale Duesing, Kaspar Holten, Tilman Knabe, Christoph Loy, Francesco Micheli, Damiano Michieletto, Caterina Panti Liberovici, Hermann Schneider, David McVicar, Keith Warner and Stein Winge.

In the field of contemporary opera, he has conducted productions of Pollicino (Henze), Tri Sestri (Eötvös), Nacht (G. F. Haas) and Enrico (Trojahn), as well as the world premiere of Icarus (David Blake and Keith Warner). Planned for the 2021/22 season is the world premiere of the new opera by Hauke Berheide and Amy Stebbins, The People out there, commissioned by the Oper Frankfurt and together with Ensemble Modern.

Concert

Guest engagements as an orchestral conductor have led him to major European orchestras, including the Filarmonica della Scala, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony and the Munich Radio Orchestra, the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, the Braunschweig State Orchestra, the Erfurt Philharmonic Orchestra and the Nuremberg State Philharmonic, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg and the Symphony Orchestra of the Mikhailovsky Theatre in Saint Petersburg. After his successful debut at the Tyrolean Festival Erl in December 2019 he has been contracted for further concerts in the upcoming seasons.

He has also conducted the Ensemble Modern, Northern Sinfonia, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.
In addition to the main focus of his symphonic repertoire – the works of Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Bruckner, Mahler, Strauss and Henze – Roland Böer regularly devotes himself to the performance or premieres of contemporary works, for instance by Aho, Antonioni, Glanert, Eggert, Montalbetti, Pohlit, Rudin and Vollmer.

He has worked with prestigious soloists such as Alessio Allegrini, Silvia Chiesa, Veronika Eberle, Alexej Gerassimez, Claire Marie Le Guay, Danjulo Ishizaka, Janine Jansen, Christel Lee, Mischa Maisky, Francesco D’Orazio, Miklos Perenyi, Julian Rachlin, Tatiana Samouil, Heinrich Schiff, Christian Tetzlaff and Mariangela Vacatello.

Education

Roland Böer is connected with the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester (RNCM) as part of an intensive collaboration that has been going for twelve years now. Each year, he compiled two to three big symphonic programmes with the RNCM Symphony Orchestra, the orchestra-in-residence of the Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte di Montepulciano, but he also developed opera productions and ensemble concerts.

For his long-standing, successful contribution to training this quasi-professional symphonic orchestra he will be awarded with an honorary fellowship of the RNCM in December 2020.

In the elite field of orchestral education he has worked with the orchestra of the Accademia della Scala in Milan and was head of a large-scale joint project with selected students from the universities of Brussels, Antwerp and Maastricht.

On several occasions he chaired juries of international singing competitions, such as "Giulio Neri" in Torrita di Siena and "Lauritz Melchior" in Aalborg, and he conducted the final concerts of the international singing competitions "Queen Sonia" and "Queen Elisabeth" in Oslo and Brussels.

Recording

His discography includes recordings for EMI and OPERA RARA (with the London Philharmonia Orchestra), for BBC Scotland (with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra) and for Bayerische Rundfunk (with the Bamberg Symphony). Roland Böer’s debut at La Scala with Die Zauberflöte (production: William Kentridge) has been released on DVD by OPUS ARTE.

The most recent CD production Werner Richard Heymann - Das symphonische Werk is a world premiere recording published by RONDEAU.

Upcoming Dates

Serse in Frankfurt
G. F. Handel, Serse
production: Tilmann Köhler
direction: Roland Böer
dates: 2020 – October 23/25/29, Nov 6/11 2020
2021 – July 2/5/9
Oper Frankfurt – Program

Tyrolean Festival Erl
Dec. 13 – J. S. Bach, Christmas Oratorio
Dec. 31 – New Year's Concert
direction: Roland Böer
Festival Program

Roland Böer

Dirigent

Kontakt: Ute Rost, +43 676 670 2423
user supplied image
user supplied image

»si l’on veut recevoir le vrai message de Mozart, il faut écouter l’orchestre. Avec Roland Böer, on a un super chef. Il a Mozart dans le sang. Sous sa direction, l’orchestre excelle.«

Nice Martin, Januar 2020

Biografie

Roland Böer ist international als Opern- und Konzertdirigent tätig. Seit 2009 ist er musikalischer Leiter, seit 2015 auch künstlerischer Direktor des von Hans Werner Henze gegründeten Festivals Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte di Montepulciano. Bis 2019 war er außerdem Erster Gastdirigent des Mikhailovsky-Theaters Sankt Petersburg.

Von 1996 bis 1999 war Böer zunächst Solorepetitor an der Oper Frankfurt, von 1999 bis 2002 Korrepetitor mit Dirigierverpflichtung an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein und gleichzeitig persönlicher Assistent von Antonio Pappano bei den Bayreuther Festspielen, am Theâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel und am Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London, bevor er von 2002 bis 2008 als Kapellmeister an die Oper Frankfurt zurückkehrte, wo er seitdem regelmäßig als Gast dirigiert, u. a. Arabella, Die verkaufte Braut, Hoffmanns Erzählungen und La Damnation de Faust.

Oper

Seit seinem Debüt an der English National Opera London 2005 mit La Clemenza di Tito (Regie: David McVicar) und beim Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom mit Così fan tutte (Regie: Daniele Abbado) ist Roland Böer einer der meist gefragten Mozart-Interpreten seiner Generation.
So leitete er beispielsweise Produktionen von Die Zauberflöte am Teatro alla Scala di Milano, am Royal Opera House London und der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Idomeneo und Die Entführung aus dem Serail an der Oper Frankfurt, Le Nozze di Figaro an der Opéra National du Rhin in Straßburg, der Polnischen Staatsoper in Warschau und am Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, Don Giovanni mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Bergen, Thamos mit dem Orchester des Maggio Musicale Fiorentino und Così fan tutte an der Opera di Firenze.

Er gastierte an der Komischen Oper Berlin (Salome), dem Theater Bonn (Der fliegende Holländer) und der Wiener Volksoper (Salome, Rusalka, Tiefland), dem Teatro Regio di Torino und dem Teatro Petruzzelli di Bari, dem Stadttheater Bern (Hänsel und Gretel), an der Opéra National du Rhin in Straßburg und der Opéra de Lyon, dem Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel (L’Heure espagnole, L’Enfant et les sortilèges), den Königlichen Opernhäusern Kopenhagen (Albert Herring, Tannhäuser) und Stockholm (Manon Lescaut, Der Rosenkavalier), der Ungarischen Staatsoper Budapest und dem Tschechischen Nationaltheater Prag (Elektra), sowie am New National Theatre Tokyo (Die Zauberflöte).

Eine langfristige und besonders erfolgreiche Beziehung pflegt Roland Böer mit der Opéra de Nice. Hier leitete er ausschließlich Neuproduktionen von Adriana Lecouvreur, Turandot (mit Berio-Schluss), Death in Venice, Elisir d’Amore, Rigoletto, The Rake’s Progress und Così fan tutte.

Er arbeitete mit RegisseurInnen wie Daniele Abbado, Matelda Cappelletti, Dale Duesing, Kaspar Holten, Tilman Knabe, Christoph Loy, Francesco Micheli, Damiano Michieletto, Caterina Panti Liberovici, Hermann Schneider, David McVicar, Keith Warner und Stein Winge.

Im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Oper leitete er Produktionen von Pollicino (Henze), Tri Sestri (Eötvös), Nacht (G. F. Haas) und Enrico (Trojahn), sowie die Uraufführung von Icarus (David Blake und Keith Warner). Für die Spielzeit 2021/22 ist die Uraufführung der neuen Oper von Hauke Berheide und Amy Stebbins, The People out there, im Auftrag der Oper Frankfurt und gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble Modern geplant.

Konzert

Als Konzertdirigent leitete Roland Böer die Filarmonica della Scala, das London Symphony Orchestra, das Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, das Radiosinfonieorchester Frankfurt und das Rundfunkorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, die Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, das Staatsorchester Braunschweig, das Philharmonische Orchester Erfurt und die Staatsphilharmonie Nürnberg, das Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra und das Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg und das Sinfonieorchester des Mikhailowsky-Theaters Sankt Petersburg. Nach seinem erfolgreichen Debüt bei den Tiroler Festspielen Erl im Dezember 2019 wurde er umgehend für drei weitere Konzerte in den nächsten Spielzeiten engagiert.

Er dirigierte außerdem das Ensemble Modern, Northern Sinfonia, das Scottish Chamber Orchestra und die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.
Neben dem Hauptschwerpunkt seines symphonischen Repertoires, den Werken von Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Bruckner, Mahler, Strauss und Henze, widmet sich Roland Böer regelmäßig der Aufführung oder Uraufführung zeitgenössischer Werke, etwa von Aho, Antonioni, Glanert, Eggert, Montalbetti, Pohlit, Rudin und Vollmer.

Er arbeitete mit namhaften SolistInnen wie Alessio Allegrini, Silvia Chiesa, Veronika Eberle, Alexej Gerassimez, Claire Marie Le Guay, Danjulo Ishizaka, Janine Jansen, Christel Lee, Mischa Maisky, Francesco D’Orazio, Miklos Perenyi, Julian Rachlin, Tatiana Samouil, Heinrich Schiff, Christian Tetzlaff und Mariangela Vacatello.

Education

Roland Böer verbindet mit dem Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester (RNCM) eine nunmehr zwölfjährige, intensive Zusammenarbeit. Mit dem RNCM Symphony Orchestra, dem Orchestra-in-Residence des Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte di Montepulciano, erarbeitet er alljährlich zwei bis drei große sinfonische Programme, aber auch Opernproduktionen und Ensemblekonzerte. Mit der Verleihung des „Congregation Award“ und der offiziellen Aufnahme als „Fellow RNCM“ wird sein langjähriger, erfolgreicher Beitrag zur Ausbildung dieses quasi professionellen Hochschulorchesters im Dezember 2020 eine besondere Würdigung erfahren.

Im Elitebereich der Orchester-Nachwuchsförderung arbeitete er mit dem Orchester der Accademia della Scala in Mailand und war Leiter eines großangelegten Gemeinschaftsprojekts mit ausgewählten Studierenden der Hochschulen Brüssel, Antwerpen und Maastricht.

Er war außerdem mehrfach Vorsitzender der Jury internationaler Gesangswettbewerbe, wie „Giulio Neri“ in Torrita di Siena und „Lauritz Melchior“ in Aalborg, und dirigierte die Finalkonzerte der internationalen Gesangswettbewerbe „Queen Sonia“ und „Queen Elisabeth“ in Oslo und Brüssel.

Aufnahmen

Aufnahmen erfolgten für EMI und OPERA RARA (beide mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra), BBC Scottish (mit dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra) und den Bayerischen Rundfunk (mit den Bamberger Symphonikern). Roland Böers Debüt am Teatro alla Scala in Mailand mit Die Zauberflöte in der Produktion von William Kentridge ist bei OPUS ARTE auf DVD erschienen.

Die jüngste Aufnahme Werner Richard Heymann - Das symphonische Werk ist eine bei RONDEAU veröffentlichte Weltersteinspielung.

Aktuelle Termine

Cantiere Internazionale d'Arte
Das 45. "Cantiere" Festival in Montepulciano, unter dem Titel "Caos e Creazione – scienza.arte.utopie", findet – zum letzten Mal unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Roland Böer – mit einem auf die aktuelle Situation angepassten Spielplan vom 23. Juli bis 2. August statt.
zur Festival-Website

Xerxes in Frankfurt (1)
G. F. Händel, Xerxes (Wiederaufnahme)
Regie: Tilmann Köhler
Leitung: Roland Böer
Termine: 23./25./29. Oktober, 6./11. November 2020
2./5./9. Juli 2021
Spielplan der Oper Frankfurt

Tiroler Festspiele Erl
13.12. – J. S. Bach, Weihnachtsoratorium
31.12. – Silvesterkonzert
Leitung: Roland Böer
Spielplan der Tiroler Festspiele